eBay
Complaint 63451 Details

  • Date Occurred: 12/08/2013
  • Reported Damages: $1,875.00
  • !

The complaint is against an online dating profile

The complaint is a listing fraud posted on public forums or sites against an anonymous entity

The complaint is mobile text spam or smishing related against an anonymous entity

The company or person contact no longer exists

International boundaries

I sold an ounce of gold to a buyer on Ebay. The buyer transfered monies to my paypal account then sent me an email requesting the item be shipped to Japan. Six weeks later, 1/20/2012, I received an email from paypal that the buyer now says this was an unauthorized charge. Below are various emails outlining the situation.

We were recently notified that one of your buyers filed a chargeback and
asked the credit card issuer to reverse a payment made to you on Dec 7, 2011.

The buyer claims that this purchase was made without authorization to use the credit card. Their credit card issuer needs additional information from you about this transaction.


-----------------------------------
Transaction Details
-----------------------------------


Buyer's Name:Tetsuya F Harano
Buyer's Email:peald@cnayo.net
Buyer's Transaction ID: 7F121485ES2599240

Transaction Date:Dec 7, 2011
Transaction Amount:-$1,875.00 USD
Case #:PP-001-633-733-625
Your Transaction ID: 9BE65978R3118143M

Hello, (From myself to the buyer) (Personal Information Removed)
My apologies for being slow in getting back to you. My laptop has been acting quirky.

Your package went out on Thursday, December 8, 2011. The shipping number is LC486075485US. The postal people said it would take 10-15 days for it to arrive in Japan. Please let me know if you encounter any problems.

Meri
From: Inagawa Mita <w4du@volld.org>
To: (Personal Information Removed)
Sent: Wednesday, December 7, 2011 10:51 AM
Subject: Re: You won this item #250942998704 on eBay: 1 Troy oz Gold Bar, Suisse Pamp, sealed and uncirculated

Hi, we have had sent $1875 (the additional $30 is for USPS Express fees to Japan) to your paypal account. Please ship today (I prefer USPS Express Mail Flat Rate Envelope to make sure it delivered in save, see shipping instruction below). Shipping address is:

Debyana San
Nishi-ku Maisaka-cho Domiru Kisashima 202
Hamamatsu, Shizuoka 431-0211
Japan

Since this is no return sale and item will be shipped half of the world, make sure to pack it carefully. Do not forget to inform me with the tracking number when item shipped out. Give me also your number, will call only in case I can't reach you via email. I'm waiting for reply. Thank

Shipping Instruction: To make faster delivery and to reduce shipping, you may insert the bar in a small (but padded) envelope so that package looks like a business-document than a package itself. With this option, you no need to declare invoice value. As far I know USPS Express Mail Flat Rate Envelope provide no insurance. However, if you ship it as "business document", with or without insurance, then once package out of US, all of the rest is my responsibility as long as it shipped via Express Mail with tracking number. My experience shows that any type of this shipment always delivered with no problem and faster too. In the case that insurance is an issue, you may also ship by USPS Registered Mail (but not preferred due to its delay) which offers insurance and require recipient signature

There is another person on Ebay that has fallen into the same trap.
The person he shipped his gold to is:
Tomita San
22 Matushita Kamiwaki-cho
Toyota-shi, Aichi-ken 444-2335
Japan

Sam.


To the best of my knowledge, here are the individuals involved in this scam.

Inagawa Mita w4du@volld.org
4448 Landings Rd
Groveport OH 43125-8920
United States

Tomita San
22 Matushita Kamiwaki-cho
Toyota-shi, Aichi-ken 444-2335
Japan

Debyana San
Nishi-ku Maisaka-cho Domiru Kisashima 202
Hamamatsu, Shizuoka 431-0211
Japan

Tetsuya F Harano (I don't have an address for this person)
Buyer's Email:peald@cnayo.net

Sam, the other Ebayer, and myself have each been assigned PayPal case numbers. If you want or need this information, I will be happy to provide. Our paypal accounts are in a pend status, meaning neither of us can sell any items because of the large debits. Mine is - -$1875, Sam's is -$1700.

Thank you very much for your time. Any assistance you can provide is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Meri Conant
(Personal Information Removed)

Do You Have a Complaint?

Submit a Complaint

Comments

  • Ryan
  • Ryan SBID #4dd1b04f1a
  • Posted 07/25/2013
  • Just got burned on the same scam, the ebay auction was http://www.ebay.com/itm/300934332174?ssPageName=STRK:MESOX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1561.l2649

    The ebay user's listed address
    Kazuo Shiota[change]
    B40 Calle Pfc Carlos J Lozada
    Caguas, PR 00727
    United States
  • Was this helpful?
  • meredith
  • meredith SBID #61812715fd
  • Posted 01/05/2014
  • I have also just been deceived in the EXACT same scam - even the wording in the email is the same. I have submitted my information to Paypal and my item is still in transit - they haven't even gotten it yet. I have been told by Paypal to call the USPS and intercept the package before it's delivered but that seems like a long shot. The sad part is that I even called Ebay and asked about the shipping to Japan when the winning bidder was a US address and they had nothing to say execpt that as long as the funds were in my paypal account it was fine.
  • Was this helpful?

Do You Have a Complaint?

Add a complaint and spread the word. High volume complaints have a better chance to get their money back. Submit a report and join forces with others like you!

Submit a Complaint Now

Business Profile Summary

  • eBay logo

Company Statistics

  • Complaint Against eBay
  • Complaints Filed: 204
  • Reported Damages: $2,173,902.73
Visit Complete Company Profile

What is SBID?

SBID is a unique id code that identifies the user's computer and location. SBID is used to prevent fraudulent postings and help our community find users who create duplicate user accounts.